One Week Left …

As of today, there is only one week left until students meet their teacher’s at their new classrooms. Of course, that is if you’re a teacher that’s on full-time contract. I, however, still have a whole month and a half to get ready, as I will be covering a maternity leave starting that is anticipated to begin at the end of October. Still lots of time to relax for me!

So that means, of course, that today, I finally began looking through my things and trying to find what I’m missing. I’ve had such a crazy summer, and now, it’s time to actually get some work done. I had promised myself that I would make a comprehensive French Literature Circle kit, and that’s what’s on the docket today.

With one week left, I’m beginning to think of my annual New School Year Resolutions.

Last year, my resolution was, simply, this blog. Of course, anybody who maintains a blog knows that it’s not that simple. When I first began this journey on Hey Ms. K!, I didn’t quite know what to make of it, or what would come of it, or even, how I would use it. I had seen many blogs that were being used as a tool to keep up with modern teaching practices; being used as a means to connect with others in the profession; being used as a way to promote the lesson plans that they were selling. I feel like I’ve taken those three standards, and I’ve added a fourth that came to dominate my blog throughout the year: connecting with parents. During the summer, it’s been easy-going back to the original purpose of why I began a blog – when I started Hey Ms. K!, I didn’t have a teaching job yet and was still expecting to be supply teaching all year, as I had done the year before. The day before school began last year, I was hired for an amazing position, and spent my year at Chelmsford Public School. This blog’s priority quickly shifted as the need became apparent that I could use this as a way to connect with parents. And honestly, it was a very effective switch. I loved being able to include families in our school day by posting the things that they did. The kids were always excited about the website, and regularly asked if we could post their accomplishments online so that mom/dad/aunt/uncle/cousin was able to see it easily. It was a great medium to connect.

This year, I have to figure out a new New School Year Resolution. And I will, I know – I’ve got a week to come up with it. And I know this blog will somehow be involved. I just have to figure out how …

What is your New School Year Resolution? Share it in the comments. Maybe it will inspire me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

