Reading Nooks – Made Simple!

July was wonderful. My fiancé and I spent a week in Jamaica celebrating the wedding of his brother and his new-wife. I spent the rest of the time getting ready for two big events: our own upcoming wedding, as well as my gig as an instructor for the National Ringette School summer ringette camp. The latter gig is, of course, the one I’m most excited about. Ringette is a sport that I’ve been passionate about since I began playing at the age of 8, when I was in Grade 3. I’ve been a goaltender since I stepped out onto the ice, and now, after playing for fifteen years (even playing at the university level for my alma mater, the University of Ottawa), I’ve joined a team to contribute to the love and passion of a sport that I adore to kids that are just beginning their journey in it. It’s an amazing opportunity to give back. That will keep my August pretty busy.

Not so busy that I can’t start organizing my new classroom. So I have begun to research what I would like to do to contribute to literacy in my classroom, because as of right now, I will be teaching English to various classrooms. That, of course, led me to think about libraries. And so, I have found this blog’s post that has inspired me to think of different ways to engage kids during independent reading. Take a look.

Live life always in all ways

Every school year I have a reading nook chart that designates where all my students can read during independent reading time.  It was a legal size white paper with little drawings of what the nook looked like with a label, and eventually students clothes pins. Nothing fancy.

BUT I’ve been inspired by this photo on Pinterest. Time to REVAMP!!!  I came to the realization that my old reading nook chart wasn’t as clear and straight forward as the picture below. I’m so happy this teacher was able to share this idea. 🙂

My plan for this school year’s reading nook chart is to take pictures of the actual nook in my classroom, label them, and attach students clothes pins. This will help students clearly understand the reading nook procedures and help with swift transitioning from my mini-lesson to independent reading time.  In the future I’ll post my before and after pictures. Please share your insights.

Please…

View original post 9 more words

Leave a Reply

