And So, the End …

I can’t believe that it’s already the last day of school. Where did the time go? How quickly it flew by! Big changes are afoot, and things are all wrapped up. My classroom is empty, and everything here looks so bare. It’s painful, because we had such a wonderful year, and Chelmsford Public School has been a wonderful home for me this year; but at the same time, I’m looking forward to things to come.

To celebrate our end of the year, the students received certificates: for excellence, for most improved, and for bringing joy to our classroom every day this year just by being them. The Way To Go awards are for students who maintained their average over both report cards; the BUG awards, which stands for Bringing Up Grades, were awarded to the students who had most improved their marks since the first term; while the Bringing Joy award was personalized to each child to award them for the wonderful things that make them individuals. Every child was proud and excited about their awards, as they should be. They have made such great strides this year.

You should have seen the proud looks when they received their awards. They were so encouraging of each other, and so proud of their individual accomplishments, as well they should. This year, we’ve come together as a classroom to grow and learn, and we’ve accomplished both – very successfully. Watching these kids grow up this year, and helping them find their passions and reach their goals, has made me feel the most accomplished I’ve ever felt. Several parents wrote to me to thank me for instilling in their children a love of reading. That is why I got into teaching. This all feels so bittersweet

I could not be more thankful for the year that I have spent here at Chelmsford Public School. A special thank you to the staff for being so cooperative and amazing to work with; also, to Mrs. Williamson and Mrs. MacEachern for being supportive and encouraging; and finally, to the parents of the children I teach, who have been so incredibly involved and fantastic throughout my first year of teaching.

Next year, I’m off to Carl A. Nesbit Elementary School. I’m very excited to bring everything that I’ve learned throughout this year and adapt it to my new home. I’m looking forward to connecting with the students, staff and parents at Nesbitt to work together to make the 2013-2014 a great one.

This summer, I will be be working on lessons plans, and concentrating on my TpT store to be able to share more of my lessons and participate in the online teaching community. I will also be helping with several summer camps with the National Ringette School: one in Sudbury, and one in Halifax. I get to reconnect with my love of sports. I can’t wait to be back on the ice. I’ll continue updating this site, as I go back to its original use: a way for me to learn new things, a way for me to connect with people, and a way to comment on what I’m learning, as well as share it. After a two week break, of course, because I’ll be lying on the beach in Jamaica (!!!!!).

Until then, I hope everybody enjoys their summer. Please be safe.

2 thoughts on “And So, the End …”

  1. Very sad to see you leave our school but your new students will be blessed to have such an amazing teacher. Thank you for a wonderful year, Jordan just adors you. She is very excited about Harry Potter so we will be off to Chapter to buy more of these books. Thank you again for a great year and good luck in your future both teaching and your marrage. Have a great summer!

    1. Thank you so much for the well wishes! I’m glad to hear that Jordan will be continuing with the Harry Potter series this summer. Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

