Success! + Happy Holidays

Can we discuss how proud I am of each and every one of my students? Our Christmas concert was a huge hit, and our great contribution was complimented over and over again. It was wonderful. We had worked so hard on our song, and it turned out beautifully. If any parent would like a copy of our song, I recorded it with my iPad. Feel free to get a hold of me and we’ll work something out to get it to you. To my students: the success of our concert was built on our enthusiasm and willingness to be creative and it all paid off tremendously. You were wonderful. I am so thankful that I have 19 bright and super fun students.

On this snow day, I’ve had a lot of time to reflect on my first four months in a regular classroom. I’ve been so blessed. 19 great kids, that are willing to work and want to succeed. We work hard, and they’re always game to meet me more than halfway – how great is that? I’ve got great coworkers, amazing support staff, and a fantastic administration. I’m so fortunate.

I’ve taken today as an opportunity to catch up on marking. The progress that my students have made is astronomical. We’ve gone from struggling to write a sentence to writing full paragraphs without issue. We’re jumping reading levels like I never could have dreamed we would. Although we still have work to do to get ready for EQAO, I can see that we’re getting there. All the hard work that we are putting in together is paying back ten fold. I can’t wait to see what 2013 brings for us. Today, and yesterday, are the kind of days that remind me why I worship my profession. Just looking around the classroom, the kids have left their mark everywhere. I see pieces of their progress every where I look: some are subtle, some are substantial, and all are remarkable.

Happy Holidays to all everybody. We got through the first bit, and I can’t wait for what is yet to come.

See you on January 7th, 2013. Make sure you come back to me in one piece.

One thought on “Success! + Happy Holidays”

Leave a Reply

